Upcoming Match-ups
  • The Wooden Award is handed out annually to the college basketball player of the year
  • Purdue big-man Zach Edey is a heavy Wooden Award favorite as of mid-February 2023
  • The graphs below track the odds to win the Wooden Award throughout the 2022-23 men’s college basketball season

Every season, online sportsbooks post odds on who will win the Wooden Award as the country’s top men’s college basketball player.

This page tracks the Wooden Award odds across legal sportsbooks and shows the odds movement throughout the season.

2023 Wooden Award Odds

2023 Wooden Award Favorites

Player Odds
Zach Edey (Purdue) -1400
Jalen  Wilson (Kansas) +1400
Trayce Jackson-Davis (Indiana) +2200
Brandon Miller (Alabama) +5000
Azuolas Tubelis (Arizona) +6000
Oscar Tshiebwe (Kentucky) +10000
Marcus Sasser (Houston) +10000
Drew Timme (Gonzaga) +10000
Isaiah Wong (Miami) +20000
Antoine Davis (Detroit) +20000
Jaime Jacquez Jr (UCLA) +20000
Kris Murray (Iowa) +20000
Armando Bacot (North Carolina) +20000
Kendric Davis (Memphis) +20000
Keyontae Johnson (Kansas State) +20000
Jalen Pickett (Penn State) +20000
Kyle Filipkowski (Duke) +20000
Terquavion Smith (NC State) +20000
Markquis Nowell (Kansas State) +20000

Odds as of January  24, 2023, at DraftKings. Claim a DraftKings promo code.

Wooden Award Odds Movement Timeline

  • Feb. 13, 2023: Edey is now a prohibitively short -2450 on average with Wilson fading all the way to +1700. This outcome is essentially decided.
  • Jan. 24, 2023: The gap Zach between Edey (-415) and second-favorite Jalen Wilson (+750) is now even bigger than it was a three weeks ago.
  • Jan. 3, 2023: Zach  Edey’s lead has only grown over the past few weeks. Now a -128 favorite, Edey’s closest competitors (Jalen Wilson and Oscar Tshiebwe) are back at +1000.
  • Dec. 12, 2022: Averaging 22.0 points and 13.7 rebounds per game, Purdue’s 7’4 center Zach Edey has become the heavy 2023 Wooden Award betting favorite.
  • Nov. 22, 2022: Timme (+700) is slightly favored over reigning Wooden-winner Tshiebwe (+750) with Bacot (+950) close behind.

Past College Basketball Player of the Year Winners

Wooden Award Winner Class Year
Oscar Tshiebwe (Kentucky) junior 2022
Luka Garza (Iowa) senior 2021
Obi Toppin (Dayton) sophomore 2020
Zion Williamson (Duke) freshman 2019
Jalen Brunson (Villanova) junior 2018
Frank Mason III (Kansas) senior 2017
Buddy Hield (Oklahoma) senior 2016
Frank Kaminsky (Wisconsin) senior 2015
Doug McDermott (Creighton) senior 2014
Trey Burke (Michigan) sophomore 2013
Anthony Davis (Kentucky) freshman 2012
Jimmer Fredette (BYU) senior 2011
Evan Turner (Ohio State) junior 2010
Blake Griffin (Oklahoma,) sophomore 2009
Tyler Hansbrough (UNC) junior 2008
Kevin Durant (Texas) freshman 2007
JJ Redick (Duke) senior 2006
Andrew Bogut (Utah) sophomore 2005
Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s) senior 2004
TJ Ford (Texas) sophomore 2003
Jason Williams (Duke) junior 2002
Shane Battier (Duke) senior 2001
Kenyon Martin (Cincinnati) senior 2000

Archived Wooden Award odds: 2022, 2021, 2020

Author Image

Mitch graduated from Ryerson University's Sport Media program in June of 2018, and has been with SBD since 2019. He's worked in broadcast and digital for the Score, Sportsnet, TSN & CBC and has done play-by-play work for basketball at all levels including NCAA, Pan Am Games & U Sports.