Upcoming Match-ups
  • This page monitors the average odds to win the 2023 AL and NL Cy Young Awards
  • Gerrit Cole (AL) and Zac Gallen (NL) are the favorites in the 2023 Cy Young odds as of mid-August
  • See where the MLB Cy Young odds sit now and how they have changed since opening

The graphs below display the average odds to win the 2023 AL and NL Cy Young Awards. The averages are calculated based on the odds available at reliable online sportsbooks.

Under the graphs, find an annotated timeline which describes major changes in the odds and why they happened.

Jump to: American League / National League

American League Cy Young Odds

Get Up To $1,000 Back if You Don't Win Your First Bet!
Must be 21+. T&C Apply. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER. Offer not valid in AZ, CO, IL, TN.
$1,000 BACK

  • August 9: Cole (-249) had opened a wide gap between himself and second-favorite Valdez (+590).  Gausman (+600) is now third-favorite in the AL Cy Young odds. .
  • July 24: Cole (+179) has taken over as the betting favorite in the AL Cy Young odds, slightly ahead of Valdez (+369), McLanahan (+420), and Gausman (+550).
  • July 11: Valdez (+201) is the new betting favorite in the 2023 AL Cy Young odds at the All-Star break, followed closely by Cole (+347) and Gausman (+350).
  • June 5: Shane McClanahan (+356) had surpassed Gerrit Cole (+412) as the AL Cy Young betting favorite, with Framber Valdez (+775) now third.
  • Feb. 23: New Rangers ace Jacob deGrom has opened as the +500 favorite in his first year in the American League.

Odds to Win AL Cy Young

Player  Odds
Gerrit Cole (NYY) -275
Kevin Gausman (TOR) +475
Framber Valdez (HOU) +700
Luis Castillo (SEA) +1500
Shohei Ohtani (LAA) +2000
Nathan Eovaldi (TEX) +4000
Felix Bautista (BAL) +5000
Sonny Gray (MIN) +10000
Logan Gilbert (SEA) +10000
George Kirby (SEA) +10000
Pablo Lopez (MIN) +10000
Joe Ryan (MIN) +12000
Zach Eflin (TB) +15000
Eduardo Rodriguez (DET) +15000

Odds as of August 9, 2023, at DraftKings Sportsbook. Claim a DraftKings promo code to bet on the AL Cy Young.   

Looking for the latest MLB odds? – Get current moneyline odds, run lines, and totals for all upcoming games today here.

2023 National League Cy Young Odds

  • August 9: The 2023 NL Cy Young odds remain a tight race with Gallen (+205) now just a hair ahead of Snell (+270).
  • July 24: Gallen (+211) is maintaining a slight lead over Strider (+300) and Snell (+375) in the NL Cy Young odds as of late July.
  • July 11: The top-three favorites in the 2023 NL Cy Young odds at midseason are Gallen (+195), Kershaw (+319), and Strider (+406).
  • June 5: The NL Cy Young odds have turned into a two-horse race between Spencer Strider (+199) and Zac Gallen (+235). Third-favorite Clayton Kershaw is way back at +1100.
  • Feb. 23: The opening odds see reigning-winner Sandy Alcantara roughly level with 2021-winner Corbin Burnes at the top of the board (+500) with the Mets’ prized offseason acquisition, Justin Verlander, third. 

Odds to Win NL Cy Young

Player Odds
Zac Gallen (ARI) +200
Blake Snell (SD) +250
Justin Steele (CHC) +475
Spencer Strider (ATL) + 550
Logan Webb (SF) +850
Corbin Burnes (MIL) +1000
Zack Wheeler (PHI) +1500
Jesus Luzardo (MIA) +2500
Clayton Kershaw (LAD) +7500
Merrill Kelly (ARI) +10000
Kodai Senga (NYM) +10000
Marcus Stroman (CHC) +10000
Mitch Keller (PIT) +10000

Odds as of August 9, 2023, at DraftKings Sportsbook. Claim a DraftKings promo code to bet on the NL Cy Young.   


AL Cy Young Winners by Team

Team Number of Cy Young Winners
Boston Red Sox 7
Baltimore Orioles 6
Cleveland Indians 6
Detroit Tigers 5
Oakland A’s 5
Toronto Blue Jays 4
Minnesota Twins 4
Kansas City Royals 4
Houston Astros 3
New York Yankees 3
Chicago White Sox 2
Milwaukee Brewers 2
Seattle Mariners 2
LA Angels 2
Tampa Bay Rays 2

NL Cy Young Winners by Team

Team Number of Cy Young Winners
Philadelphia Phillies 7
Los Angeles Dodgers 7
New York Mets 7
Atlanta Braves 6
Arizona Diamondbacks 5
Chicago Cubs 5
San Diego Padres 4
St. Louis Cardinals 3
San Francisco Giants 3
Houston Astros 2
Pittsburgh Pirates 2
Washington Nationals 2
Cincinnati Reds 1
Miami Marlins 1
Montreal Expos 1

The tables above pertain to 1967 to the present day. The Cy Young Award was first handed out in 1956, but for the first 11 years, there was only one award for both leagues.  Dodgers players won an additional five in that span. Yankee players won two. The Braves, White Sox, Pirates, and Angels won one.

AL Teams Without a Cy Young Winner

American League Teams Without a Cy Young Winner
Texas Rangers

The Rangers are the only American League club to have never produced a Cy Young winner. Texas came close in 1989 when Nolan Ryan led the league in strikeouts and finished fifth in Cy Young voting.

NL Teams Without a Cy Young Winner

National League Teams Without a Cy Young Winner
Colorado Rockies

Pitchers with Multiple Cy Young Awards

Pitcher Number of Cy Young Awards
Roger Clemens 7
Randy Johnson 5
Steve Carlton 4
Greg Maddux 4
Sandy Koufax 3
Pedro Martinez 3
Jim Palmer 3
Tom Seaver 3
Clayton Kershaw 3
Max Scherzer 3
Justin Verlander 3
Bob Gibson 2
Tom Glavine 2
Roy Halladay 2
Corey Kluber 2
Tim Lincecum 2
Denny McLain 2
Gaylord Perry 2
Bret Saberhagen 2
Johan Santana 2
Jacob deGrom 2

Archived Cy Young Odds: 2022, 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018

Author Image

Sascha was a hockey player in his youth, a lawyer in his capricious mid-20s, and has been with SBD since 2014. He specializes in football, basketball, politics, baseball, and hockey.